What’s new



Welcome New board members


With this newsletter, we welcome three new chairs to our CPRS Toronto board. Communications Co-chairs, Danielle D’Agostino and Roger Jabaly and Marketing Chair, Gary Williams, ABC. We also welcome Molly Campbell, our new e-newsletter editor. Look forward to seeing more communication to members from Communication and Marketing committees over the coming weeks.

New APRS and Life Members


CPRS Toronto’s newest accredited members: Ashley Brown APR, Pereina Choudhury, APR; Katia Collette, APR; and Mark Ingram, APR were recognized on Wednesday, May 13th at a reception hosted by APEX Public Relations. Many thanks to Linda Andross and her team at APEX for their generosity.

While Accreditation is a national program, Toronto has a chair of Accreditation who supports candidates throughout the entire process.

For the past two years, Jilder Lazer, APR has been a coach, a cheerleader and an inspiration. I have heard accredited members say her workshops are so comprehensive that if they could, they would attend her sessions again and again. Thank you Jilda, for your dedication to public relations professionalism and congratulations to this year’s accredited members.

In addition to the recognition of the newly accredited members, CPRS National Executive Director, Karen Dalton, APR, LM announced CPRS Toronto Life Members: Hanna Pilar, LM; Marilyn Short APR, LM; Gordon Kenneth McIvor Ph.D., APR, FCPRS, LM; Maryjane Martin APR, LM; Sarah K. Jones APR, FCPRS, LM; Corinne LaBossiere APR, LM; Jodi Macpherson APR, LM; and David Milliken, LM. Life memberships are awarded to members who have participated in the chapter for over thirty years and have made a significant contribution to our profession.

New Graduates


With the arrival of spring, comes graduation for many of our CPRS Toronto student members. I am always encouraged to hear how our members have provided advice, internships and mentoring to our graduating student members. If you are graduating, check out our membership terms – you may still qualify for student pricing at events over the coming year or for a transitional affiliate membership.

ACE Gala — New winners


While I believe you receive valuable insight in participating in award programs, actually winning a professional award is quite an achievement and validation of your skills. To all the winners of the ACE Awards this year, my sincerest congratulations! A special thanks to the ACE Committee, Charzie Abendanio, Molly Chudnovsky, Natalie Dee, Dominique Dorais, Megan Irwin, Barbara Loureiro , Robin Smith and ACE Committee Chair, Carolyn Merchant.

Our Community Manager, Liza Butcher and Charzie Abendanio live tweeted the evening and kept the social media world informed of our event. Thank you.

Ashley Brown, APR with Accreditation Chair, Jilda Lazer, APR

Ashley Brown, APR with Accreditation Chair, Jilda Lazer, APR



Leave a Reply